2018 Bontor Trophy

The Bontor Trophy is the annual Men vs. Ladies singles match play event.

The two Captains go head-to-head. The remaining matches are drawn in strict handicap order.  The Captains usually play in the first game and other games go out in any order.

As in regular match play, the higher handicapper receives an allowance of the full difference between the handicaps of the two players. The handicaps shall be adjusted if necessary for any stroke allowances that may be relevant for mixed competitions (click here for details). Any shots are taken against the Men's stroke indices.

The Bontor Trophy is awarded on the day of the event to the winning Captain (Honours Board). No further prizes are awarded, although it has been known for a Wooden Spoon to find its way to the man who loses by the largest margin.

The course and tee time are to be advised.

Match Report
Report by Alison Chadwick & Nick Rogers

Winners:  The Men 11-7

The Men reversed the trend of the last four years with a clear win.

There was coffee and bacon rolls before the match and cake afterwards.  There was an anxious wait for the last games to come in to reveal the happy winners.

Click for larger picture

The new overall overall score: Men 55 - Ladies 22 - Draw 3



Saturday 18 August
Duke's Course

Alison Chadwick H Nigel Gaymond
Habe Crocker M 3&2 James Barker
Angela Flynn L 4&2 Pete Harrison
Elaine Elborn M 2up Oliver Maskell
Veronica Mitchell L 4&3 Roger Rojas
Jayne Maxwell L 4&2 Kim Chaffart
Sheena Harrington H Jon Cooper
Jane Fraser M 3&2 Tim Meyer
Tenesi Karakaneva M 1up Kenny Du
Lia Donath L 2up Peter Osgood
Susan Smith L 4&3 Mike Shabani
Cathy Staveley H Jeremy Thompson
Deborah Potter M 6&5 Peter Needham
Cheryl Woodhouse M 2*1 Tamas Ladacs
Anne Holding-Parsons M 2&1 Martin Heinrich
Ann Gardner H Anis Driaa
Jini Beacham M 5&4 Shaun Dupreez
Fiona Coombe M 2&1 Paul Grand

Men 55 - Ladies 22 - Draw 3

2017 - The Ladies 10-8
2016 - Match Halved 18-18
2015 - Match Halved 9-9
2014 - The Ladies 6-5
2013 - The Men 7-2
2012 - The Men 7-6
2011 - The Ladies 6-4
2010 - The Ladies 9-7
2009 - The Men 7-6
2008 - The Men 9-7
2007 - The Men 13-
2006 - The Ladies 6-5
2005 - The Men 9-6
2004 - The Men
2003 - The Ladies
2002 - The Men 13-4

Honours Board