Duke's 3rd Hole - Lateral Water Hazard

On the Duke's 3rd hole between the tee and the ditch that crosses the fairway the stretch of heavy rough to the left of the fairway has had a change of status from 'ground under repair' to 'lateral water hazard', and red stakes have been inserted. This means of course that there is no longer 'free relief' from this area and if a drop from the area is taken this will be under penalty of one stroke.

For those that do not have the current Rules of Golf immediately to hand I will copy for info Rule 26-1 c.

"As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard, drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole."

If you should have any queries on this please ask.

Peter Harrington
2 Nov 2018